• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Brian

Brian

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 June 2006 - 02:36 AM

I'm new to Buddhism and advanced meditation in general.

I was curious, what types of mediation do you generally use and how have you benefited from them?

I have used basic meditation for about 6 months now (not religiously) by basic meditation I mean meditation wherein you focus on your breathing, so far I haven't had any experiences whatsoever, I've just sat and meditated clearing my mind seeing blackness

Am i doing something wrong or should I just keep at it?

#2 RobertK

RobertK

Administrator

• Root Admin
  • 1,318 posts

Posted 15 June 2006 - 03:37 AM

HI Brian, welcome to the forum,
Ven. Yuttadhammo and ven. Pesala are knowledgeable about this area and might comment.
In the meantime it is good to consider why you meditate and what your aims are. Buddhist meditation can be divided into samatha and vipassana (calm and insight). It is a complex area so we need to have some understanding of the teachings of the Buddha to understand meditation in the Buddhist way. Maybe you can tell us your thoughts on this ..
Anapansati (breath meditation) is more difficult than it appears, there are other meditations like maransati (contemplation of death) or Dhammanusati (contemplation on Dhamma) that may be somewhat easier.
Robert

#3 Guest_Scott Duncan_*

Guest_Scott Duncan_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 June 2006 - 03:55 AM

QUOTE(Brian @ Jun 14 2006, 08:36 PM) View Post

I'm new to Buddhism and advanced meditation in general.

I was curious, what types of mediation do you generally use and how have you benefited from them?

I have used basic meditation for about 6 months now (not religiously) by basic meditation I mean meditation wherein you focus on your breathing, so far I haven't had any experiences whatsoever, I've just sat and meditated clearing my mind seeing blackness

Am i doing something wrong or should I just keep at it?

Dear Brian,