• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 FliPaSso

FliPaSso

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 September 2007 - 09:21 PM

I have been practicing meditation for about 1 year and 3 months now.
I've practiced yoga meditation(samatha), tried my way with a self-taught Vipassana method and just recently, less than a month ago, I've started practicing the Vipassana method that is taught in the book "Mindfulness in Plain English", I believe it's anapasati, by a theravadan monk Ven. Henelopa Gunaratana.
I'm glad 'cause I just recently attained this level where I can focus on my breath and on my thoughts at the same time for periods of about 1 minute without distractions. Do you think i'm on the right path?
The thing is, I would really love to try the jhana absortion, but I don't know if it's possible while paying attention to the thoughts that pop in my head.
Is it possible to access jhana while witnessing thoughts?
Or if a person wants to enter jhana one must focus on an "unchangeable(spl?)" object?
BTW: What do you think is best samatha or vipassana? Do you practice both?
PS: Sorry if I didn't make myself clear.

peace@you.all

#2 Guest_Scott_*

Guest_Scott_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 September 2007 - 02:53 AM

Dear FliPaSso.

Thanks for the question. Is this your given name?

Do you think i'm on the right path?

A tough question for someone else to answer...

The thing is, I would really love to try the jhana absortion, but I don't know if it's possible while paying attention to the thoughts that pop in my head.
Is it possible to access jhana while witnessing thoughts?
Or if a person wants to enter jhana one must focus on an "unchangeable(spl?)" object?
BTW: What do you think is best samatha or vipassana? Do you practice both?

Please consider this passage from Sammohavinodanii (The Dispeller of Delusion, pp.44-45), commentary to Vibha"nga: